The Chapter is the administrative body of the Cathedral and has the ultimate responsibility for the direction of its affairs

Southwark Cathedral Chapter

Canon Michael Rawson, Sub-Dean and Canon Pastor   

Michael has been Sub Dean and Canon Pastor since December 2014. He grew up in West Yorkshire and prior to Southwark ministered in the Diocese of Wakefield and latterly the Diocese of Leeds as a parish priest, bishop’s chaplain and Sub Dean of Wakefield Cathedral. He is a school governor and trustee of two local educational charities.

Canon Wendy Robins, Canon Chancellor

The Revd Canon Wendy Robins has been associated with Southwark Cathedral as an Assistant priest for many years and was installed as Canon Chancellor in December 2022.  As well as her role at the Cathedral, where she is also a Trustee of the Education Centre, she works as the Director of Discipleship. Lay Ministry and Continuing Ministerial Education for the Diocese. Wendy’s family also worship with her at the Cathedral. She is an avid reader of crime fiction.                                           

Canon Jeremy Clark-King, Canon Treasurer

Jeremy was ordained in 1990 and has served in parishes and chaplaincies in 3 provinces of the Anglican Communion. In 2020, he and his wife Ellen (who is Dean of King’s College London) returned to the UK from San Francisco where he was involved in organisation development in churches and other organisations.

Having spent two years looking after the training and development of the curates in Southwark, he now leads the team responsible for guiding people through the vocations and ordination process from curacy to first appointment as vicar in a parish.    

Gillian Reynolds

Gill Reynolds has worshipped at the Cathedral for more than 16 years during which time she has been involved in various capacities including supporting Chapter with the first draft Masterplan and the Robes project. In her professional life she worked in management consultancy, senior leadership development and more recently as an Executive coach. She sits on the Diocesan Board of Trustees and Diocesan Synod and is involved in her local community in Wandsworth. Her interests include cricket, opera, theatre and anything related to France.

Daniel Chumbley, Cathedral Warden

Daniel Chumbley has been a Cathedral Warden and a member of Chapter for over 5 years. He is a solicitor in the financial services industry and leads a team specialising in regulatory enforcement, conduct and litigation.                                 

Linda Hutchinson, Cathedral Warden

Linda Hutchinson is a retired Secondary School Head Teacher and has been a Cathedral Warden for just over three years. She is a trustee of two Education Trusts and served as a Trustee of a National Museum for eight years.                                                 

Amuda Poongavanam

Amuda Poongavanam is a qualified engineer, has worked in financial services for 25 years starting from writing code to delivering organisational change ranging from compliance to regulation, trade/voice surveillance and conduct remediation. She spends her free time walking her 3 dogs, studying languages, cooking wonderful meals for friends and family and loves craft, design and working with her hands.                                                                                

Simon Kingston

Simon Kingston co-leads the Social Impact and Education sector for leadership advisory firm Russell Reynolds Associates. He serves a range of clients with a particular focus on board work in the global development sector. Simon is Irish and, with his wife, founded and runs the West Cork History Festival. He and Victoria have two children and have been members of the Cathedral community for over a decade.                                                                           

Lynn Cooper

Mrs Lynn Cooper DL is a Deputy Lieutenant of Greater London, supporting the work of the Lieutenancy in Southwark, with an emphasis on social inclusion. She was Under Sheriff of Greater London for 8 years and was High Sheriff of Greater London from April 2021 to 2022 supporting the work of the Justice system, those who work in it and the many charities and volunteers who underpin this and support others. She engaged in Southwark with the Mayor, the cathedral, faith groups and charities in Southwark to thank them for their work during COVID and held a Thanksgiving Service in the Cathedral to give thanks for this work. Lynn was a commercial lawyer for 27 years and serves as a non-executive director on the board of a financial institution in the City. Through this work and service as a governor of a school she has had extensive experience of governance. Interests include singing, opera and walking, with dogs especially.

Southwark Cathedral Masterplan

A copy of the Cathedral Masterplan can be found here