Music Recital | Nicholas Ventura (piano)

  • Venue

    Southwark Cathedral

  • Time

    3:15 PM

  • Price

    FREE - Donations welcome

A short musical recital

A short musical recital given by Italian pianist Nicolas Ventura (piano).

J. P. Rameau Suite in D major/minor (extracts)

I. Les Tendres Plaintes

IV. Le Joyeuse

V. La Follette

VI. L’ entretien des Muses

VIII. Les Cyclopes

X. La Boiteuse


J. Brahms Sonata No.2 Op.2 in f sharp minor

I. Allegro non troppo, ma energico

II. Andante con espressione

III. Scherzo

IV. Finale

The London-based Italian pianist Nicolas Ventura is emerging as an interpreter whose reflective mind and fiery passion are the starting points for performances of a carefully selected repertoire. His last appearances include such halls as Sale Apollinee of Teatro La Fenice in Venice, Teatro Rossini in Gioia del Colle, Fazioli Concert Hall in Sacile, Teatro Impavidi in Sarzana, the Jacqueline Du Pré music building in Oxford, the Duke’s Hall and the Brazilian Embassy in London among others.

Born in Tuscany, Nicolas studied with Konstantin Bogino and Tatiana Sarkissova. He is an alumnus of the Conservatorio “Cesare Pollini" of Padua, where he graduated with the highest honours and a special mention, and of the Royal Academy of Music, where he obtained both the Master of Arts and the Professional Diploma degree. During the years, he received many awards as the “Sir Reginald Thatchers Prize” and “Franz Simmons Prize”, as well as the “Goetze Bequest Award” and the DipRAM for an outstanding performance in a final recital.

He is currently specializing with Benedetto Lupo at the Accademia di Pinerolo in Italy and has been admitted at the Artist Diploma at the Royal College of Music in London to start in September 2022.

Nicolas is also interested in chamber music and conducting, which he studied with Michael Dittrich and David Ramael. He recently performed with the Orchestra Sinfonica di Chioggia, the Philharmonic Orchestra “Mihail Jora” of Bacau and conducted the Danube Symphony Orchestra. Alongside his solo career, he collaborated with young emerging composers as K. Bubnelis and B. Simoes and among his latest activities are his participation at the Oxford Piano Festival, and the transcriptions of Prokofiev’s “Schytian Suite” for piano and of Copland’s “Lincoln Portrait” for two pianos. He participated in masterclassesand had important musical influences from such artists as Pavel Gililov, Anna Malikova, Håkon Autsbo, Imogen Cooper, Dmitri Alexeev, Marios Papadopoulos and Federico Colli.

Nicolas is an avid reader and writer about music, literature and philosophy