Morning, Noon, and Night takes you on a musical journey through the day, under Luke Jerram’s breathtaking Gaia artwork – a replica of Earth, seven metres in diameter and populated with images from NASA - in Southwark Cathedral

Thursday 20 October


Tickets £1.00 - £25.00 from City of London Sinfonia

Hope for a New Dawn offers you an exceptional experience of Messiaen’s Quartet for the End of Time under Luke Jerram’s breathtaking Gaia artwork in Southwark Cathedral.

Messiaen composed and premiered the piece during the most difficult period of his life as a prisoner of war in a German camp, armed only with a bag of miniature scores, a pencil and music paper. The piece reminds us that we have the ability to create beauty even under the most difficult circumstances.

Pull up one of our comfy cushions, wrap yourself in a cozy blanket and enjoy an hour of stillness to take what we so often lack in our busy lives: time to reflect on our place in this beautiful world and to remember that even the longest and darkest night is followed by a new dawn.


Alexandra Wood violin
Joely Koos cello
Katherine Spencer clarinet
Huw Watkins piano 


Messian Quartet for the End of Time